summer reading list

“summertime, soak up the season with you.”

Its been a while since I read a good book that changed my life. That’s why I am making it a goal, no a priority to read a few life changing books this summer season.

So here is my reading list. Dig it if you can. Let me know what you have read and what you liked the best. I would love to say I’ll get through them all, but the summer (+ the rest of May) is barely 120 days.

Isabel Allende – The House of Spirits

Gabriel Garcia Marquez –Love in the Time of Cholera

Zora Neale Hurston – Dust Tracks on a Road

Seneca – Letters from a Stoic

Albert Camus – The Rebel

Jean Paul Sartre – Nausea

Black Elk – Black Elk Speaks

Simone De Beauvoir – The Second Sex

Olaudau Equiano – Interesting Narrative of the Life of Olaudau Equiano

Harriet Jacobs – Incidents in the Life of a Slave Girl

Harriet E Wilson – Our Nig

Norman Yetman – When I Was A Slave

Victor Frankl – Man’s Search For Meaning

Rollo May – Love and Will

Erich Fromm – The Art of Living

Gandhi – The Story of My Experiments With Truth

Richard Dawkins – The Selfish Gene

Malcolm Gladwell – The Tipping Point

Norman Mailer – Naked and the Dead

Aldous Huxley – The Doors of Perception

Alice Sebold – Lucky

Jack Kerouac – On the Road

Barbara  Kingsolver –  The Poisonwood Bible

Chinua Achebe –Things Fall Apart

Mitar Kundera – The Unbearable Lightness of Being

Ivan Klima – Love and Garbage

William Faulkner – Intruder In the Dust

Eric Berne – Games People Play

Toni Morrison – Beloved

Luke Rhinehart – The Dice Man

Chuck Palahniuk – Fight Club

Antoine De Saint Exupery – The Little Prince

Kurt Vonnegut – Slaughterhouse Number 5

Some of these joints, I have yet to read as an adult. I am hoping to find some new insight, but hate to think that I may not love them like I used to. I guess that’s growing up…….

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

